Pursue Your Pivot: Build Your Professional Network

A Word …

I’m headed to South by Southwest tomorrow to … drumroll, please … build my network and learn something new, and I couldn’t be more excited! This will be my first time at this massive event and my first time in Austin.

Cue Beyonce’s Texas Hold ‘Em 

I heard it’s a beautiful city with great vegan food, so if I come back with plans to move there, just be happy for me. Actually, considering the politics of the state, never mind. Then again, I do live in Florida, so there’s that part … Texas to Florida: Twin, where have you been?

Sidenote: What level of adulting have I reached? Whenever I go to a new city, I love checking out their grocery stores lol (Trader Joe’s, Sprouts, Whole Foods), and this trip won’t be any different.

Another Word …

Happy Women’s History Month! This year’s theme is “Women Who Advocate for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion.” Now … there is so much that can be said about that, as Black women are not always (insert your experience level) supported by other women in the workplace or entrepreneurship.

That. Is. A. Story. For. Another. Edition.

nene GIF

Okay! Let's talk networking. Before you roll your eyes and think of those awkward happy hour events, hear me out. I don't like them. They are not my thing and never have been. For me, networking doesn't mean squeezing into a crowded bar and making small talk with random folks over a drink. I'm not villainizing happy hours, but I'm more of a conference and workshop kind of person. What about you?

There's something about learning about topics I'm interested in AND connecting with like-minded individuals that energizes me. And even though some folks have online fatigue, platforms like LinkedIn and Facebook groups also offer endless opportunities to expand your network from the comfort of your home. Win-win!

Where are the opportunities? I find events on Eventbrite, LinkedIn, Facebook, and from association emails. I also conduct Google searches for industry-specific conferences. While local opportunities make networking more accessible, don’t be afraid to travel if it’s in the budget. That way, you learn, network, AND have new experiences in another city.

Last week, we discussed the importance of learning new skills. Well, guess what? Networking often goes hand in hand with skill-building. Whenever I attend a conference, I inevitably come away not only with new knowledge but also with a handful of valuable contacts. Sometimes, they're people in my area of interest, and other times, they're potential collaborators for folks in my network.

Even if I meet people in person, I always make it a point to connect with them on LinkedIn to get a better snapshot of their background and expertise and make it easier to cultivate the relationship. So, if your profile is not current, this is your sign to get it done!

If we're not connected on LinkedIn, please add me. I would love to connect with you further.

Pro Tip: Get rid of the physical business cards! I ALWAYS forgot my business cards when I went to conferences. So, now I use the HiHello app. It’s free, and when I show people, they usually sign up if they don’t have it already. You can also create one by making yourself a contact entry on your phone with your professional info.

Throw Away Make It Rain GIF

Now, I know networking can be intimidating, especially if you're on the shy side or pivoting to a new space, but thankfully, there's no one-size-fits-all approach. You can choose how you build your network. Whether it's attending industry events, joining professional associations, or engaging in online communities, there's a method out there that works for you. 

Regardless of the method, networking is about building genuine, mutually beneficial connections and leveraging them to advance your career or entrepreneurial pursuits. It's about sharing your goals and aspirations with others. Sure, it can feel vulnerable to put yourself out there and talk about your career pivot or entrepreneurial dreams. But trust me when I say that keeping those goals to yourself could mean missing out on valuable opportunities and connections.

I've heard so many stories of successful professionals giving testimonies about how they did not apply for their current roles. Instead, someone in their network reached out or brought their name up in rooms they weren't in and didn't know existed. I want that for you!

Circling back to professional associations, let's not overlook the power of these organizations. There truly is an association for everything. In my past professional life, I was a member of the National Association of Black Accountants. Now, as a grant writer and nonprofit consultant, I am a member of the Grant Professionals Association. 

Being part of a professional organization not only provides access to valuable industry-specific resources and knowledge but also opens doors to networking opportunities you wouldn't find elsewhere. I'll always be a part of a professional organization as long as I am working and creating.

Are you a part of an association?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Parting Thoughts …

Networking isn’t about collecting business cards for the sake of doing so or going to every event just to say that you’re networking. Instead, I want you to be intentional about how you spend your time connecting with people to ensure it’s fun and fruitful so you will keep at it and find your tribe.

So, update your profiles and cards, step out of your comfort zone, and cultivate your network. You never know where it might take you and who you may meet!

Do you have a networking tip that works well? Please reply and let me know!