Pursue Your Pivot: Burnout Is Real

A word …

The first quarter of 2024 is coming to an end.

That. Is. Wild.

In the words of E. Badu, "Ladies, y'all alright?!"

If you said 2024 was your year, I hope you still feel that way. Even with life lifing like only life can, I still feel that way.

What are you proud of yourself for accomplishing this quarter? If making it through the first quarter with your sanity was the goal, that's great!

I'm proud of my consistency with this newsletter and attending at least one conference (SXSW … which I can't wait to recap for y'all).

I always look forward to the second quarter because April ushers in my birthday, and June is always a beautiful month before the hellacious heat rolls in.

Cheers to Aries Season! 

This week, I wanted to cover a topic that many of us may have experienced at some point in our careers: burnout. Many people think burnout is just about being stressed, but it's also about being physically, emotionally, and mentally exhausted, which affects our well-being, professional journeys, and pivots.

I've been feeling burnt out, but this topic really came top of mind when I was listening to Morgan DeBaun's latest podcast episode. She spoke about burnout, and it was like an epiphany. 

Season 1, Episode 49: Ask Me Anything! Morgan Answers YOUR Questions

I. am. Burnt. Out.

Unfortunately, I've been here before, but thankfully, this time around, it's not as exacerbated. As we know, what sucks about burnout is still having to show up and perform because of responsibilities, bills, a sense of accomplishment, etc.

Sidenote: Have you ever thought about what you would do if you had a time machine? I don't know about you, but I wouldn't have gotten into the independent woman mindset. Someone take care of me, please lmao. Sheez! Well, that and buying Apple stock, going to the gym, and studying abroad. 

Anyhoo, now that I'm here … I. Am. Burnt. Out.

When I think about burnout, I think about waking up each morning feeling drained, overwhelmed, and emotionally depleted. My enthusiasm for work has waned, and instead, I feel apathetic and disengaged. In Morgan's podcast episode, she described it as feeling detached, and she ain't neva lied.

To go a step further, for some people, simple tasks that used to be easy to execute or that were enjoyable now feel like burdens and even the most straightforward decisions are daunting. Burnout can also manifest physically as fatigue, headaches, and muscle tension.

Does any of this resonate with you?

Being that I stand ten toes down for Black women, I also wanted to look at burnout from that lens. Women, in general, often find themselves experiencing burnout more than their male counterparts due to juggling career responsibilities with caregiving and household duties. Layer on being a Black woman, and we have to consider the systemic challenges and biases in the workplace and world, leading to feelings of frustration, exhaustion, and lack of recognition. 

Breathe Red Hair GIF by Carol's Daughter

Additionally, societal expectations of perfectionism and the pressure to excel in all areas of life can contribute to burnout. So, remember when I said earlier that it was fine if your goal was just to get through the first quarter? I meant that. 

In the context of pivoting, I think burnout can go both ways. It can either fuel change or stall transformation.

Burnout can catalyze positive change and professional transformation by prompting self-reflection, introspection, and evaluation of priorities, values, and career aspirations. In this situation, you can reassess your goals and better align them with your passions and interests. 

From experience, I know that burnout can ignite courage, resilience, and determination to make meaningful changes, such as pivoting to a new role, industry, or entrepreneurial venture, like I did in 2020 when I left the accounting profession for the last time.

On the other end of the spectrum, burnout can also be a formidable barrier to professional pivots, hindering motivation, decision-making abilities, and resilience. When experiencing burnout, exploring new opportunities or making career changes can seem daunting and overwhelming. Strained relationships, decreased energy levels, and self-doubt can further impede one's ability to navigate through transitions effectively. Fear of failure and perfectionism may also discourage folks from taking risks and pursuing new paths.

I also experienced this in a previous pivot in 2008 when I left, or tried to leave, the accounting profession for the first time. Yes, this has been a journey for ya girl lol. It is still a journey and may forever be a journey. Nonetheless, we can make it a fun one!

All of that, and I'm sure you're thinking, what is the solution? Well, I'll give you my two cents, and then the experts will weigh in via the TED Health podcast below. I told y'all I love podcasts, lol.

  1. As with most things, acknowledging burnout is the first step toward navigating through it.

  2. Incorporate activities that recharge and restore your energy, such as exercise, mindfulness, and hobbies. I think working out has been a saving grace for me. Some days, I wish I could only work out. 

  3. Establish balance by setting boundaries to avoid excessive commitments. 

  4. Seek support from your community of friends, family, mentors, and colleagues who can offer guidance, encouragement, and perspective. Hopefully, I am a part of your community, so let me know if I can assist! 

  5. Reflect on your values, strengths, and goals, and realign your career path with what truly matters to you. 

  6. Take breaks, vacations, and downtime to help gain perspective and recharge. I know I am overdue for a vacation where I only eat, sleep, and site see.

If you are feeling burnt out, hopefully, this was helpful, even if it was getting you to step one above.

The cure for burnout with Emily Nagoski and Amelia Nagoski

Parting Thoughts …

Burnout is not a sign of weakness but a signal that you need care, attention, and support. By acknowledging the signs of burnout, understanding its impact, and taking steps to navigate through it, we will work to reclaim our energy, passion, and resilience on our journies toward pursuing our pivots.

I’d love to hear from you. Respond to this email and let me know if you’re experiencing burnout and what you’re doing to combat it.