Pursue Your Pivot: Make The Decision Today

What decision is giving you anxiety, and can you change that today?

A Word …

I am looking forward to June! It's my second favorite month of the year, after my birthday in April, of course. It embodies summer before the heat gets absolutely unbearable in Miami, and there are always a ton of events going on. I'm about to be outside for real, and I can't wait!

Are you excited for June? What's on your agenda for the month?

Speaking of being excited …

I. Am. So. Excited. 

One of my clients is hiring a new employee and taking their grant writing in-house, a service I have provided them for the past 18 months. Not me being fired lol

Some may be confused about my enthusiasm because I'm losing a client and revenue, BUT I just said the day before that I wanted to let them go as a client. Actually, I've been saying that for months, but I was going back and forth (typical me). Not because I wanted to keep them but because they were one of my first recurring clients, and I really liked working with the Executive Director. 

However, the rate was hella low, we couldn't get a lot of traction because of the type of organization it is, and I really want to focus more on Black-led organizations. But I couldn't commit to letting them go. Thankfully, my client did for me what I couldn't do for myself and my business, and I am forever grateful!

Why am I telling you this? A few reasons …

  1. After my client informed me of their decision, I felt free! A weight was lifted from my shoulders. Do you have a decision you need to make that will free you up to pursue your pivot? Are you creating more anxiety by being indecisive? If so, this is your sign to decide and make your next move!

  2. The amount of brain capacity that this client's to-do list and this decision to part ways was taking up is now available for some of the ideas I put on the back burner. Do you have a parking lot of ideas in a notebook or on your phone waiting for you to move on? One decision may make room to bring some of those opportunities to fruition … opportunities that can change your life!

  3. I look forward to putting more energy into other existing clients and projects. This means doing more pre-planning and identifying more opportunities for them. What are some projects that could benefit from 1-2 more hours a week that would also be beneficial for you? 

  4. This experience has inspired me to take inventory to see if there are other decisions I need to make to clear space—decisions I’ll make instead of waiting for someone else to make them for me. Amen! I hope you will join me in this exercise and take inventory of your own life, whether personal or professional.

As I write this edition, I get more and more excited as I type each word. My mind is going a million miles a minute about how to use this time best to get the most ROI. I wish you all could understand the true magnitude of my excitement and the possibilities now that I have room to craft my business better, increase my revenue streams, and create what I want to exist. Annnd You. Can. Do. It. Too. So, let's make it happen!

Sidenote: If you are looking for other ways to clear space in your life, I gave some actionable suggestions in one of my February editions.

Parting Thoughts …

Let’s be quick(er) and confident in our decisions. Years of experience and discernment allow us to make good decisions, so trust yourself to do just that.

As always, I would love to hear from you. Please respond to this email and let me know what decision you are struggling to make. Can I assist you with it?