Pursue Your Pivot: Move! Get Out Your Way!

A Word …

Ebbs and flows are real. I’ve been in an “ebb” space for the past two months or so, but bay-bay, the “flow” has shown up for me, and I am thankful. I am re-energized to pour into my business and do some of the things I’ve been thinking about for a while now. My creative juices are flowing, and I see the rewards on the other side of the work I am about to do. I know that this level of excitement is foreshadowing a transformation that I’ve been waiting on for years. I want this same thing for you, but I had to get out of my way to get to this point, which led me to want to write today’s edition.

Every day, I dreamt. Every. Day. However, it was not every day that I did something to work towards those dreams. Not because someone was stopping me or there was some external force preventing me from making moves. So, what was blocking progress? Was it me? Was I the villain?!

Unfortunately, I was. I was the villain in my own story. Even now, sometimes I get in my way. I impede my progress. I keep myself stagnant. Does that sound familiar?

You've got dreams, right? Like me, you probably also have big, bold, audacious dreams that you think about daily. Dreams that excite you or keep you up at night because you see what life would be like if you made them a reality. They can be anything from a promotion to owning a business, becoming a digital nomad, or retiring early. I'm assuming you do because you're here, with me, reading this newsletter, and I'm glad you are!

So, I've admitted what stops me, but what's stopping you? What's getting in the way of your dreams becoming your everyday reality? If you're honest with yourself, there's a good chance you'll find that the biggest thing standing between you and your success isn't some external obstacle either. While they may be factors, it's not always the lack of time, money, or resources holding your back. It's you. Clutches Pearls Yes, you might be the one blocking your blessings.

That might be tough to hear, and you may have run through ten reasons why it's not you, but this reality check is something we all need to face at some point. We often get so caught up in our fears, doubts, and insecurities that we don't even realize we're self-sabotaging. We're holding ourselves back from the very opportunities we're desperate to seize. Is that any way to spend our lives? It makes me sad just thinking about it. So, let's start from the beginning to make some changes.

Identifying Your Blocks: What's Holding You Back?

Let's start by getting clear on what your blocks may be. Do you procrastinate, always waiting for the "perfect" moment to come? Spoiler alert: It never comes. Maybe you're afraid of failure ... worried that if you take that leap, you might fail. Even worse, someone may see you fail. Or perhaps it's the fear of success that's holding you back. That sounds like an oxymoron, but the idea that achieving your dreams might add more pressure and expectations to your already demanding schedule could be subconsciously keeping you from achieving your goals.

Then there's that sneaky little voice inside your head … the one that whispers, "Who do you think you are?" when you dare to step outside your comfort zone. It's the same voice that reminds you of every mistake you've ever made, when you've fallen short, and why you're not good enough. Some call it imposter syndrome, and some call it the little prince. Either way, that voice is a liar, plain and simple, but it's a convincing one. 

Whatever your specific blocks are, it's crucial to recognize them. Acknowledge their presence because only when you know what's in your way can you start to move past it.

Mindset Matters: Shifting from Scarcity to Abundance

Once you've identified your blocks, it's time to do the real work and shift your mindset. So, when I saw "Get out of your way," what does that mean in practice? 

It's about moving from a scarcity mindset to one of abundance. When you operate from scarcity, you're constantly worried that there's not enough—enough time, enough resources, enough opportunities, or even enough of you to go around. This kind of thinking keeps you playing small, afraid to take risks, and hesitant to step into your full potential.

Shifting to an abundance mindset means recognizing there is more than enough to go around to make your dreams a reality. It's about believing that you are capable, worthy, and deserving of all the good things that come your way and, ultimately, your dream life.

One way that I actively work to change my mindset is by changing limiting thoughts as they occur. For example, when a negative thought tells me I'm not ready or will fail, I replace that thought with a positive one. It can be something quick like "I am capable. I am deserving. I am ready." When you make this a habit, you start believing it and believing the value of your worth. 

A few books that helped me with this mindset shift were the Badass series by Jen Sincero, Rich As F*ck by Amanda Frances, and We Should All Be Millionaires by Rachel Rogers. Have you read any of these books? If so, what are your thoughts?

Getting Out of Your Own Way: Practical Steps Forward

The next step is about taking action. It's one thing to shift your mindset, but it's another to start moving in the direction of your dreams. 

Remember when I said I would dream but not do anything to fulfill those dreams? Well, I don't want that for you. Taking action can change your life in three, six, or nine months. Start small if you need to. Set one tiny, achievable goal that moves you closer to where you want to be. It could be dedicating 15 minutes daily to your side hustle to send emails to potential customers, posting on social media, or researching an idea or opportunity. I start by making a to-do list and knocking out small tasks to get quick wins. Whatever it is, those 15 minutes are an invaluable investment. 

Another thing that can help you get out of your way is engaging someone to help you move. Whether it's a mentor who can offer guidance and encouragement, a coach who can help you set and achieve goals, or a community of like-minded women on the same journey, please seek the support you need. As the saying goes, insanity is repeating the same patterns and expecting different results. For example, I was trying to reach my body goals on my own. It was not working, to say the least, but once I hired a trainer, the weight started coming off, and my body started changing in ways that I'd dreamt of for years.

So, invest in yourself because you are your most valuable asset. Read books that inspire and challenge you, listen to podcasts that ignite you, and surround yourself with people who lift you up. The more you immerse yourself in positive, growth-oriented environments, the easier it becomes to stay out of your way and achieve those big, bold, audacious goals!

Parting Thoughts …

As you work to get out of your way, be patient with yourself. Personal growth and transformation aren't overnight processes. There will be setbacks and moments when that little voice of doubt creeps back in. That's okay as long as you acknowledge it and it's temporary. It's a part of the journey. It's a part of the pursuit. It’s a part of the pivot.

The key is to keep moving forward, no matter how slow the progress might seem. Every step you take, no matter how small, is a step in the right direction. So, don't give up on yourself, and don't give up on your dreams. They're waiting for you on the other side of your self-imposed blocks.

So, what can you do today to get where you're trying to go? As for me, I'm going to brainstorm and send some emails.