Pursue Your Pivot: Summa, Summa, Summa Time

A word …

I’m back! Have you ever gotten so hype for a month, thinking it’s gonna be thee month, only for life to hit you with an Usher-style “Watch this”? That was me with June. Unfortunately, as some of you know, I had to care for and eventually say goodbye to my beloved pup, Drake, last month. It was one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do, so the newsletter took a bit of a back seat. But through the tears and challenging days, I missed connecting with you all, and I’m ready to get back on track. 

So, let’s catch up! How have you been? How was your June? Summer is officially here. Y’all outside yet?

With all the emotional rollercoasters and life’s unexpected turns, I’ve decided it’s time to redirect my energy and embrace the local scene like never before. Usually, I’d have several trips lined up, but let’s be real, ya girl is tired. So, this summer, I’m playing tourist right here in sunny (and rainy) South Florida. There’s so much to see and do that I’ve often overlooked in my own backyard.

In the spirit of trying new things, I want to encourage you all, as you Pursue Your Pivot, to dive into activities that have absolutely nothing to do with your career. Sometimes, stepping out of our professional bubbles and trying something totally different can reignite our passion and creativity in unexpected ways. Here’s a sneak peek at what’s on my summer bucket list:

  • Local wine tasting – Because who doesn’t love discovering a new favorite vino?

  • Embroidery – A cool way to let my creative juices flow and jazz up my Converse

  • Become CPR Certified – It’s a skill we should all have mastered

  • Yoga – I’ve done yoga before, but it’s been forever 

  • Pilates – Seeing what all the hype is about

  • Improv Workshop – To help with my networking and public speaking

  • Photography Class – Specifically, how to take better pictures with my phone

  • Podcasting – Exploring my voice in a whole new medium

  • Learning more about AI – There’s so much to learn, and it’s constantly changing

  • Another piercing and my first tattoo – Because why not?!

I’ve been pinning inspiration to my Pinterest boards like a madwoman, but I’d love to hear your suggestions. What’s on your summer to do list? What should I add to m list? I’m on a mission to pack this summer with at least 15 fun, new experiences.

I’ve also been scouring Tripadvisor and Instagram for local gems I haven’t explored yet. Isn’t it wild how tourists often see more of our own cities than we do? That’s about to change! I’m determined to uncover the hidden treasures and hotspots right here at home.

Parting Thoughts …

Life can be unpredictable and tough, but it’s also filled with opportunities to grow, heal, and have fun. As we navigate our pivots, let’s remember to fill our cups with joy and adventure. Here’s to a summer of new experiences, self-discovery, and a whole lot of fun. Let’s make this season unforgettable!